House Sets Full 2020 Session Calendar

Uncategorized  |  November 25, 2019

House Sets Full 2020 Session Calendar

The House released Friday its session calendar for all of 2020, detailing meeting dates all the way through next year’s lame duck session, rather than the previous practice of releasing separate first- and second-half calendars.

In general, the calendar shows the House logging several sessions from late January to mid-February; a break until Tuesday, March 24 for the primary election; a three-week break in April around Easter; summer break starting after a Thursday, June 11 session; only if-needed sessions scheduled before the November general election; and a lame-duck session potentially ending after Wednesday, Dec. 9, though if-needed sessions stretch to Thursday, Dec. 17.

As has been the custom under Speaker Larry Householder (R-Glenford), all Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday sessions are scheduled to start at 1 p.m.

The full calendar is as follows:

January: Committee hearings Tuesday, Jan. 21 through Thursday, Jan. 23; if-needed session Tuesday, Jan. 28; sessions Wednesday, Jan. 29 and Thursday, Jan. 30.

February: if-needed session Tuesday, Feb. 4 and sessions Wednesday, Feb. 5 and Thursday, Feb. 6; if-needed session Tuesday, Feb. 11 and sessions Wednesday, Feb. 23 and Thursday, Feb. 13; if-needed sessions Wednesday, Feb. 19 and Thursday, Feb. 20.

March: Sessions Tuesday, March 24 through Thursday, March 26; and Tuesday, March 31.

April: Sessions Wednesday, April 1 and Thursday April 2; and Tuesday, April 28 through Thursday, April 30.

May: If-needed session Tuesday, May 5 and sessions Wednesday, May 6 and Thursday, May 7; if-needed session Tuesday, May 12 and sessions Wednesday, May 13 and Thursday, May 14; sessions Tuesday, May 19 through Thursday, May 21; and if-needed sessions Wednesday, May 27 and Thursday, May 28.

June: Sessions Tuesday, June 2 through Thursday, June 4; and Tuesday, June 9 through Thursday, June 11.

July and August: No sessions scheduled.

September: Only if-needed sessions scheduled, for Tuesday, Sept. 15 through Thursday, Sept. 17; and Tuesday, Sept. 22 through Thursday, Sept. 24.

October: No sessions scheduled.

November: Session Tuesday, Nov. 10 and if-needed session Thursday, Nov. 12; and sessions Tuesday, Nov. 17 through Thursday, Nov. 19.

December: Sessions Wednesday, Dec. 2 and Thursday, Dec. 3; sessions Tuesday, Dec. 8 and Wednesday, Dec. 9; and if-needed sessions Thursday, Dec. 10, Wednesday, Dec. 16 and Thursday, Dec. 17.